Photography Design

DESCRIPTION
For this assignment, we were to use a photo we took and use color themes from within the picture to add to the design.

kyleeegbertwk5photo1

PROCESS (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles)

First I started off with a sketch of an idea I had. I wanted a picture with mountains, I am learning I am pretty obsessed with mountains! And for the color scheme I started out thinking that I would something with greys, blues, and greens, then once I took the photo I thought I would do purples and yellows, but after a few critiques I ended up with the gold and a light blue color scheme. So here is the sketch I came up with.:

img_4318

I then took the photo and placed it in photoshop to begin editing. There I started by adjusting the vibrancy, selective color, and levels of the photo. Then I added lines and the type to the design. This was my first draft:img_3719

It was then I had it critiqued by my professor and a classmate. My professor said that I had more golds than yellows in the photo and that I needed to fix up my color scheme. And my classmate Brooke Munoz reminded me I needed to add my color scheme to my project. So with that, I decided to keep some form of the lines in the design that I had in the beginning but changed the colors and how many lines there were. I used the rule of odds and put in 5 lines and changed the word Hike to be larger to add to the design. The following picture is an example of how I got the colors to be correct shades from within the picture and checked it against the color wheel:

screen-shot-2016-10-11-at-9-53-19-pm

And here is what the end design looks like (just like the one at the very beginning of this blog:

kyleeegbertwk5photo1

CRITIQUE PROCESS

Brooke Munoz from class  critique my design. Her critique reminded me that i do need to have the color scheme on the actual design. And Sister Nugent critiqued my design and said to fix the color scheme and to make sure I was following design principles so that helped me change and fix up the design. I also put my design on the class Facebook page early with no luck on any critiques from anyone there.

Facebook Critiques: I posted my design early and no one critiqued it!!!
One-on-One Critique: Brooke Munoz
Instructor Critique: She suggested fixing the color scheme and making sure I was following the rubric.

MESSAGE
To go out and hike because it is good for you!

AUDIENCE
Any viewer that likes the outdoors and needs a reminder to get out there and go hiking.

TOP THING LEARNED
That the color scheme is easier to take straight from the photo instead of thinking it is just  one color when you look at a specific color. Instead of just yellow in my picture, it was gold, so that changed what other colors go with it.

COLOR SCHEME & COLOR NAMES
Complementary// Gold and Light Blue

TITLE FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Arial Black // Script

COPY FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Arial Black// Script

THUMBNAILS OF ANY ORIGINAL, UNEDITED IMAGE(S) USED IN THE PROJECT

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-6-22-37-pm

SOURCE OF EACH IMAGE (website name and hyperlink)
The image is my own.

4 thoughts on “Photography Design

Leave a Reply

