Magazine Spread Project

First I started out with a few sketches of how I wanted my spread to look like. It helped that back in week 7 we sketched out some ideas, found pictures we wanted to use, and wrote our stories. I went back and edited my story a little more. Just to clean it up. From my sketches I actually changed my design layout a bit. Before I was thinking of having a road run through the center of the page from left to right, but in the end I fell in love with the picture I found for the back ground with the road going from the bottom of the page to almost the very top. I also made my shape map to help me think of where to best place my text boxes.

Here is a link to week 7 blog that also included some of my beginning ideas and sketches:https://kyleeegbert.wordpress.com/2016/06/02/7a-magazine-content-sketches/

Critique:

I critiqued Daniel Booth and Jessica Nebeker Aston design spreads. I received critique from Laurinda Bennett and Katherine Nelson. Laurinda and Katherine both suggested moving my type into columns instead of just two boxes. I am so glad they suggested it because I ended up doing 4 columns and I think it looks so much better that way. It looks more like a magazine.  I am so grateful for their honest critiques!

Here is the shape map and sketches for my project so far:

Final Project:

I changed a lot of my project. I changed my original color scheme. I also changed the way my pictures were lade out. And I changed the number of columns I originally planned on having. I rally liked how it turned out. Please enjoy:

kyleeegbert12..JPG

Sketches:

IMG_2676.jpg

Video:

 

Image Sources:

http://lifelanes.progressive.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/1000x1000_RoadsideAssistance.jpg

https://www.google.com/search?q=road&tbm=isch&imgil=hO6DcpeaZ7b2sM%253A%253BfeQxnRKkIHh_pM%253Bhttps%25253A%25252F%25252Fwww.entrepreneur.com%25252Farticle%25252F274923&source=iu&pf=m&fir=hO6DcpeaZ7b2sM%253A%252CfeQxnRKkIHh_pM%252C_&usg=__grPKuw3Gs6jYOkFqGJN7-opugs8%3D&biw=1242&bih=566&ved=0ahUKEwiVtfaVld_NAhUEdz4KHbyWA4oQyjcIKQ&ei=UiV9V5XEHITu-QG8rY7QCA#imgdii=hO6DcpeaZ7b2sM%3A%3BhO6DcpeaZ7b2sM%3A%3BASZSQ2d7sG-FcM%3A&imgrc=hO6DcpeaZ7b2sM%3A

Leave a Reply

